What’s the Time Limit to Sue for a Slip and Fall in Wisconsin?
Statute of Limitations for a Slip and Fall in Wisconsin
You slipped and fell unexpectedly on someone else’s property, suffering injuries in the process. Maybe it was a tailbone fracture, a head injury or a broken arm. Medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering are adding up. Can you still file a lawsuit for a slip and fall?
The statute of limitations determines how long you have to file a lawsuit for personal injury cases. The time limit to sue for a slip and fall in Wisconsin is 3 years (Wisconsin Statute 893.54). This means you have 3 years from the date of the incident to file the lawsuit.
Even if your 3 years aren’t up yet, you cannot sue for a slip and fall if you’ve already accepted an insurance settlement. Talking to the insurance company first is a big mistake – they notoriously throw out lowball settlements, hoping you won’t proceed with a lawsuit. Your best bet is to contact an experienced personal injury lawyer.
Should You File a Lawsuit for a Slip and Fall?
Whether you slipped and fell on ice, at work or in a parking lot, suing for a slip and fall comes down to proving the property owner or manager is responsible for the dangerous conditions that caused your injury. You will need to prove the property owner failed to take reasonable steps to maintain safety and prevent accidents.
Steve Caya is a successful Wisconsin slip and fall lawyer known for helping clients get the compensation they deserve. When you schedule your free consultation, he’ll listen to your story, review the evidence and determine if filing a lawsuit is in your best interest.
Everything you really need to know before filing a slip and fall lawsuit in Wisconsin:
- If you have a case to begin with
- How much a slip and fall settlement in Wisconsin is worth
- Typical slip and fall injuries
- How to file a slip and fall claim in Wisconsin
- You can file yourself - but you should talk with a lawyer first